Sixth Sunday of Lent 2019/Liturgy of the Passion: The Psalm Passage – Even when things are “bad” they are still “good”

After Palm Sunday we enter into Holy Week. For me and writing of this blog, it means there is something to write on each day – at least each day of Holy Week. And I full the compulsion and obligation to write something each day of Holy Week. Even if it is in the midst of other events, and (more importantly) I write this the week BEFORE Holy Week as I write one week ahead. It is at times a mad scramble to keep events and obligations in line and moving along.

“Be gracious to me, O LORD, for I am in distress; my eye wastes away from grief, my soul and body also.
For my life is spent with sorrow, and my years with sighing; my strength fails because of my misery, and my bones waste away.
I am the scorn of all my adversaries, a horror to my neighbors, an object of dread to my acquaintances; those who see me in the street flee from me.
I have passed out of mind like one who is dead; I have become like a broken vessel.
For I hear the whispering of many– terror all around!– as they scheme together against me, as they plot to take my life.” (Psalm 31:9 – 13)

Even “Preacher” feels a bit pressed upon and rushed. Surely if she had the time she would sit with “Seeker” and the two of the might reflect on this passage. But the minutes and hours tick by too quickly. Or, time moves by slowly and too little accomplished in that time. Rushing about and moving slowly towards the goal seem to be the only two speeds. No time to reflect or rest in the Lord. The only solace, as the psalmist recognizes, is this . . .

“But I trust in you, O LORD; I say, “You are my God.”
My times are in your hand; deliver me from the hand of my enemies and persecutors.
Let your face shine upon your servant; save me in your steadfast love.” (Verses 14 – 16)